Can You Get HD Audio Out Of The PS3?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
HI,

I have a lots on blu-ray dvd's that i play on my ps3, I have a denon avr 1909 surround sound amp that can decode hd audio. My question is can the ps3 put out hd audio because on my amps display is all ever says multi channel in? If I put a normal dvd in my dvd player it will come up as dolby digital, dts etc... I've looked in my amp's manual and if does say it display dobly ture hd and dts hd. Does anyone have the same problem or knows if the ps3 can put out hd audio? Or do I need a sperate blu-ray player?

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
I'm far from an expert on the PS3, having never owned one, but I do know that you DO get HD audio from the PS3, but something to do with the way it's sent means you don't get the HD codec 'flags' on your amp.

Hopefully someone with an all encompassing knowledge of the PS3 will be able to fill the gaps in for you.

A

Anonymous

It's a common enough question on these forums that I think even I now know the answer. Your PS3 will take the HD audio from your disc and decode it internally, before sending the audio to your receiver. The receiver will not show an HD sound track because your PS3 has already decoded it, doing the same work that your amp would do otherwise. So you are getting HD sound even though it doesn't say that on your receiver.

If you were to use a standalone blu ray player, most of those can output the HD audio in it's raw format (which is what the PS3 can't do) and you may arguably get better sound if your receiver can decode the sound better than the PS3 can.

A

Anonymous

Hey big chris

thanks for your replay, so basically your saying I am getting hd audio but the ps3 doesnt make the amp show on its display?

A

Anonymous

Thanks for ue reply alwatson.. is there any way you can make th ps3 not decode it?

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site