Can you combine Hi - FI with home cinema?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I'm totally new to home cinema although I bought a budget ARCAM HI FI about 10 years ago (CD 62 Cd and A85 amp with KEF Q series floorstanders).

I love the HI - FI but can now invest in a reasonable home cinema.

Is there a home cinema system I can move to that will also allow me to play music cd's at a reasonable standard?

Budget 4-6K

Grateful for any thoughts

John Duncan

With 4k I'd buy this:

http://www.whathifi.com/review/cambridge-audio-751bd

first. I have one in the house. It's a great CD player, but does so much more.

With 4k, I'd be listening to this

http://www.whathifi.com/review/yamaha-rx-v1067

and something like these

http://www.whathifi.com/review/monitor-audio-silver-rx6-av12

or these

http://www.whathifi.com/review/tannoy-revolution-signature

With the whole six grand, I might stick with the Yam, or a bigger brother, or stretch to an Arcam (though be mindful of software glitches), but would absolutely have these

http://www.whathifi.com/review/pmc-db1i-51

I might forego the sub if budget was absolute...

ric71

Mar 9, 2010
Visit site
You certainly can. PMC and ARCAM phenomenal.
Consider Monitor Audio Apex (dont necessarily use the Monitor Audio sub) with the Arcam AVR 500 or 600 if space is an issue.
Oppo 95 as a source for all of your audio and movies.
Please don't listen to people who say you can't combine the two as this is just not true.
Demo demo and demo.

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
This is one of those questions that could be answered with yes or no. It's really down to the individual's expectations and requirements. Define 'reasonable'...

You should be able to find something good enough with your budget :)

A

Anonymous