Can anybody suggest a way forward with wi-fi

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
As a complete novice I am a bit lost, is anybody able to offer advice.

I recently bought an HD TV, I will get sky HD or virgin + in months to come when the price hopefully comes down, but in the short term i want to get a PS3 as a HD source. I understand that PS3 uses wireless technology to update its software so I guess I am going to need to go wireless in the house. I am a virgin cable customer on broadband, I have a wireless enabled laptop for work and also a wii for the kids.

- Will a single wireless router supply wireles connectivity to the laptop, the wii and the PS3.

- Does the technology allow them all to work simultaneously?

- what do I need to look for when buying a router? At PC world they range in price from £40 to £120, how do I buy for my needs?

If anybody can offer advice I would be truly grateful.

John Duncan

Yes, they will all work together, but it depends on how your broadband is set up at the moment - you may need only a router, or you may need a cable modem as well (though you can buy them in a combined box).

Virgin are not terribly helpful with some of their wireless kit, since the access point they gave me would only service one client, which isn't terribly helpful in your situation. I was able to rectify this with a bought router (belkin off the top of my head), but this was a while ago and I subsequently haven't been able to get my Vista laptop to work with it, which may have to do with the age of the router or the stupidity of vista, no idea.

Just as an aside, if you're getting your internet from the back of the virgin set top box, you might be able to use wired networking for the PS3, rather than wireless, if they're in the same place.

Describe your current internet setup and hardware (if any) for me and we'll take it from there.

A

Anonymous