Calling ALL Airport Express Gurus - please help!!!

PJ1200

Jan 4, 2008
Visit site
|(

This will not surprise many on here, but someone else is having AE issues!!

This is not the first time I have had them, so I wouldn't call myself a total beginner in this field! Many moons ago I had issues with my O2 Broadband ("BBII") router and connecting the AE as a 'client' to that existing network. See here:

http://www.whathifi.com/forum/computer-based-music/airport-express-installation-with-o2-b-band

Now recently we called O2 and they offered to send out their newest router. Exciting - I'm sure you'll all agree! This new router was probably about 5-6 years newer than the old BBII router we had and had the latest 'n' wireless protocol (is that what it is called?). The old BBII was only 'b/g'.

Last night I unpacked the new O2 Broadband router - which is version 5 of 'V' ("BBV") and set it up on the computer and to the internet, without fuss. I knew I would have issues connecting the AE to the network so read up on my thread above to familiarise myself with what to do.

I pluged the AE into the router using a ethernet cable and reset the AE. I then opened the Airport Utility application and waited for it to scan the now reset AE (for those who don't know, the AE runs as a 'client' or a 'base station'. I wanted to use it as the former.

I should point out the AE is a very old 'b/g' AE - not a newer 'n' AE.

The Utility found the now reset AE and I started to configure the AE to connect to our existing O2 network. Using the 'Airport' tab, I told it to 'Join an existing network' and proceed to input the Broadband Name of my network before clicking on the Security button to update the AE with our new security.