Cables, mains, interconnectors and speaker cables

Golden Ears

Oct 14, 2009
Visit site
It's such a hugely discussed topic. Can cables make your system sound better? I feel the answer is NO but the can make it worse! This is the paradox, many people claim that cables are all the same, there are so many parameters as to what defines their audio experience. I have over the last 25 years experienced cables costing thousands of £'s and cables that have been thrown in the box with the item. The supplied cables always sucked. The expensive cables had varying sound characteristics. The latest experience I've had is with 2 type of cables mains and Speaker.

the mains cables have been so grey to term an expression I've personally noticed sound differences when replacing mains cables. I've had the discussion with professional sound engineers who have said its impossible and would never believe otherwise. Last week one of he engineers opened his system up to me. He has a modest Rotel amp, a project record played and a CD player (Sony) his system cables were audioquest and the speaker cables QED. The first thing he challenged was that a speaker cable can heave any effect. We listen to The hunter LP the sound of his system IMO was very poor.

We replaced the speaker cable with a military spec wire that I terminated with decent lockable plugs (Rhodium platd) the wire was silver plated rated at 6AWG. He sound instantly became more listenable. He acknowledged but couldn't understand how they had changed the sound. Next the mains cable. This being his biggest objection. The cable I chose was a DH labs mains cable terminated with Rhodium plugs.

Within 20 seconds he'd acknowledged the sound had been transformed. He insisted on is changing back to his standard cable. A smile came and he said the treble was much more realistic with the other cable. We replaced it again with the DH labs I had terminated needless to say I left his house without either cable!