Buy B&W CM1 speakers or better Amp?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all, Im new to this forum, so I hope Im posting at the right place. I am currently studying in Indonesia and couldnt bring my Hifi system with me :( So its time to buy something new, small, and not too pricy. At home I've got this stuff: Speakers:

B&W CM5

Amp: Rotel Ra 1520

CDP: Sony X777ES

And some very nice HMS cables.

Now I am looking for some small speakers which are not too pricy and easy to bring with. As I very like B&W and it might be that I upgrade my home system to 5.1 I'd like to stick to B&W. So the speakers of my choice would either be the 686 or CM1. Furthermore I will have to buy a new Amp. I got a great offer be a local dealer, who unfortunatly doesnt sell B&W stuff (the next one is like 500km away :D), for a Cambridge Audio Azur 550A. So that would be the Amp of my choice. Now to the problem I have. My budget :D Its limited, so I have to consider wether the difference between the 686 and CM1 is worth the price? Did anyone hear them in comparism?(I only know the difference between the 686, my first speakers, and the CM5's and its huge, especially at the high and low end)

My budget is about 800 to 850 Euro. I could get the Azur 550A for about 380 Euro, the 686 for about 400 Euro and the CM1 for about 650 Euro. So I cant afford all of that stuff. I have to choose between the B&W 686 + Azur 550A or the CM1 + some cheaper amp ( or a multichannel receiver, cause it might be that I will upgrade my home system to 5.1 later on).

So, ist the CM1 worth the price?

If so, will it sound better, even if the amp is cheaper, or a cheap multichannel amp (dunno if thats any good for stereo at first???)

What would you consider to be the better choice for me?

Greetings from sunny Bali

Daniel:)

WishTree

May 18, 2010
Visit site
Hi Daniel - Welcome to the forum!