Budget speakers go for my NAD502 CDP and Rotel RA 971?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
recently just got NAD 502 as my CD player and Rotel RA 971 as amp from ebay.de (both used, € 52.- for NAD € 74.- for Rotel)

now i have to choose my speakers:

1. Tannoy Mercury F1 custom

2&3. Wharfedale diamond 9.0 / 9.1

4. Mordaunt Short Avant 902i

5. B&W DM 601

or something else.

i think they should all available from € 100 - 150 from ebay if they are used.

mostly i hear indie, altnative, postrock etc, epic45 and Sigur rós for example.

i'm new in hifi and as its my first hifi system i need some help.

d_a_n1979

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
The above speakers are a goo starting list but look at the likes of the Monitor Audio BR2's or even the Monitor Audio RS1's if you can find them at a decent price.

B&W 602 S2's or S3's could be an option too but they seem to be holding their value well currently so you may have to look closer to £200.

Are you dead-set on standmount speakers (if so have you budgeted for stands) or can you look at floorstanding speakers (sometimes standmount speakers take up the same room as floorstanders if not a little bit more)?

If you can consider floorstanders then with your budget you could look at a decetn pair of Acoustic Energy AE109's. Superb speakers and they'd gel really well with your NAD/Rotel set-up
emotion-1.gif

A

Anonymous

Avoid the Mordaunt Short and the Wharfedales. The AEs are a good suggestion.

A

Anonymous

i think i will just buy 2 bookshelf speaker for my 15sqm room, and my budget is nowhere near those AE109s.

but i do find the little "Acoustic Energy Aegis One" bookshelf speakers which got 4.8/5 rating in audioreview.com, i dont know if they are the proper choices for my NAD/Rotel?

A

Anonymous

ok guys, thanks for all your tips, i think i may go after Tannoy mercury f1 custom, just because the proper price.