Budget HI-FI setup - Class T amp???

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Good day, fellow HI-FIers!

I'm new to the hi-fi scene and i'm buying my first stereo setup, that is not 2.1 pc multimedia speaker system...

I did some research and found a lot of positive feedback on Class T amplifiers... I am particularly interested in Temple Audio Bantam Gold - 2 x 25w, its being sold on their website as "Better than T class quality". Its hand made in UK, price tag around 180 pounds. Are these Class T amps really on par with a lot expenciver class A/B amplifiers, or is this just marketing junk?? infos, experiences, please :)

After i buy my amp, ill hook some old Goldstar 3-way speakers... Until i gather some money to get proper stereo speakers for around 200 pounds for pair. You have any advice?

Thank you very much!

Rok

A

Anonymous

It depends on the chip used and it implementation on how it will sound you get good class T like you get good and bad other amplifiers. I have some Kingrex T20U class T amplifiers that use the 2020 Tripath chip which is I feel the best and the amplifier sounds superb, but you need to use it/them with high sensitivity speakers 90db+

A

Anonymous

Temple audio uses TA2024c chip, its 2x15w amp and is getting good reviews. It retails at around 90 pounds. But its big brother, Bantam GOLD has 2x25w of power, even better PCB, gold plated contacts ....

Big Nads and Woofer

May 11, 2009
Visit site
I've heard the Bantam Gold and the Dac version - For the money the Bantam gold is the best amp I've heard, You just cant beat it for price. Sounds excellent too and if you bought one I'm sure you wouldnt want to spend £300-400 on amps that get mentioned round here. Give Temple Audio a ring to see if you can demo one..

It's about time WHF gave them a review!!!!

A

Anonymous