Budget £1300-1500 amplifier and a pair of bookshelves, suggestions please??

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi guys

As the tittle suggest I have a budget of around £1500 and looking to buy a good amp and pair of speakers to go with it.

Here's a little story how I actually got into the whole fine-sound affair:

I am a musician myself, I play the Indian percussion instrument called tabla. During my teenage time, oneday I went into Birmingham richer sound store inquest of finding a hifi system that would sound better than what all my friends and cousins had at time in the likes of aiwa, kenwood, technics, etc. Quite naturally I saw brands that I never heard of before, I had not much to spend either but luckily for me they had a sale on. I am talking about early 90s so no Internet to do any research before buying, so what do I do? I looked at this beautiful looking amp it was called musical fidelity e10 integrated amp it looked nice and simple and also the name caught my imagination and I decided to buy it, don't remember how much it was, I also bought a cheap Marantz cd player. In terms of speakers I knew what I was looking for. I was looking to buy Bose but richer sound didn't sell them so the salesman suggested BW dm601 and again I was impressed by looks and their yellow kebler.

So this was my first pure hifi set up and I have been really pleased with the sound.