British made Hi-Fi

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
As a Design Engineer I take great pride in supporting British Manufacturing industry (I have an almost completely BRITISH made audio set-up). As a group of people we are responsible for some of the greatest inventions (I believe some incredible figure of 80% of all major inventions in the world have started life inside a British head) and this probably extends into the area of Home Audio Electronics as well.

What would be great Clare....especially in this time of hardship for manufacturers in general....would be an issue of What Hi-fi specifically wrapping itself in a Union Jack (shamelessly so) and promoting British High Fidelity manufacturers...the likes of (in no particular order) Naim Audio, Cyrus Audio, Acoustic Energy, Bowers and Wilkins, Meridian Audio, Michell Engineering (don't you just love that name), Arcam, Linn, Pure, etc, etc....even Sony.....maybe focusing on what particular products from their stable ARE manufactured by British People!

Possibly visit a few manufacturers and do some editorial about the people behind the designs, facilities, etc??

Sure you might annoy the likes of Yamaha, Denon, Marantz, Rotel, Samsung, Toshiba, etc, etc....for one issue, but just think.... if every one of your readership made it a new years resolution to buy at least one component manufactured in good old Blighty.....that would probably ensure the likes of these manufacturers being around to review their products for a bit longer.

As I said....it's shameless promotion..... but go out to Germany, or France, or Italy, or Spain....try to spot a police car not manufactured in each of those particular forces own country (other than the odd token 4x4)!!!!

We as a Manufacturing Nation are almost like no other (with the exception of the USA) in our promotion of imported goods and our lack of support for home grown products.