Bright system

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Andrew and anyone else who cares to help out, i am having a slight brightness problem with my system

the system in question is:-

MF x-80

Cyrus CD6vs

Project debut 3 phono sb

Dynaudio focus 110's

Van de Hull 102 mk 3 interconnects

Speaker cable is a bespoke design by myself, i was a cable design engineer for a number of years its a twisted pair of 32 strands of silver plated copper sheathed with clear ptfe

I have recently bought the 110's and since they have loosened up the treble is a little bright on some recordings it sounds like the vocalist has a lisp.

I think I have a system miss match but i am also wondering about the speaker cable.

i did try and get the x-80 converted to x-150 but mf no longer do it therefore i have plans for a pre power combo in the future but short term, lower cost, any ideas out there

Thanks

Chris

A

Anonymous

In addition i have just seen some MF M250 mono blocks for £900 secondhand would they help or hinder?

A

Anonymous

very nice indeed but a little out of the price range plus she would kill me!

would the power amps help then?

Thaiman

Jul 28, 2007
Visit site
I think the brightness sound come from the combo of Cyrus and MF, so a pre - powers set up wouldn't make it warmer imo. The VDH you are using is well known for taming forward sounding electronics although I never found this to be true to my ears. Dyn's treble is very natural so it shouldn't contribute to the brightness problem.

A

Anonymous

So speaker cable may be the answer then?

Seen some Nordost Blue Heaven Rev II Speaker Cable on ebay, Thaiman if i remember rightly your not a lover of Nordost but am i looking in the right area?

Thaiman

Jul 28, 2007
Visit site
No!!!!!