bi-amping

sonic21

Oct 23, 2013
Visit site
hi guys,

im a newbie in this forum, am gald to be in this wonderful forum!

i will be bi-amping my speakers, so getting an additional power amp soon. read an article on this website http://sound.westhost.com/bi-amp.htm#summary

quote:<"There is one area where you may find that changing to a biamped system cases an apparent loss of bass response. This is rare, but in some cases the cabinet design may have been optimised for the woofer, including the resistance of the series inductor in the passive crossover. This is especially true for very well designed ported boxes. The result is that a biamped system is slightly over-damped by comparison, resulting in a loss of bass response.">
now im worried if the issue of loss of bass response will occur in my case. im using roksan kandy k2 intergrated amp with b&w 684 speakers.will add the kandy k2 power amp which will drive the LF. i have ordered the power amp which will be arriving hopefully by end of the month. i could not audition it cause there is no demo set at my local dealer. the other thing i read in another article that i need an electronic crossover or not it wouldnt be real biamping?i thought it would be just a simple connection were from the intergated amp to the HF speaker terminal would use 1 speaker cable and from the power amp to the LF speaker terminal would use 1 speaker cable. for the interconnects from intergrated amp's pre out to the power amp's input. that's it...my question is would i have loss of bass? do i need an electronic crossover? what other setups i have to do besides the above mentioned?sorry if my explanation is not clear. be grateful if anybody could answer me.

abacus

If your speaker has links on the back (Connecting the bass & treble together) then it is designed for bi-amping (Just remember to remove the links) so go ahead.