Best value high quality streaming?

IanE

May 21, 2013
Visit site
Morning all,

I'm a computer engineer who likes good music but who has been out of the hifi scene for a long time.

I have a client who is an audiophile - Tron valve amps, lots of high end kit.

He is looking to digitise his extensive CD collection and stream it from a computer in one room to the listening room.

Can anyone point me at a useful guide or answer a few basic questions?

1. Best format for digitising - FLAC?

2. Should we be looking at storing files locally in the listening room? Will we suffer loss of quality or throughput issues if trying to stream over a Homeplug system?

3. Best streaming device to use in teh listening roo - laptop + DAC? Dedicated media player?

This man is very serious about his music. Not looking to spend unlimited amounts but lookinig for a system that will satisfy his discerning ear.

Sorry to put noddy questions to you but any answers appreciated!

Cheers!

abacus

1. Convert the CDs into a lossless format (FLAC being the most common and pretty well supported these days) using the same bit rate as the music file was recorded in. (CD is 16bit 44KHZ) I use Fair Stars CD Ripper software, however there are plenty of others.

2. If you are happy to have the computer in the same room as your audio system, then a USB DAC will be all that you need to connect to your audio system. (Have a look at the WHF reviews for one within your price band)