Best amp under £250 new or secondhand

popjac11

Oct 18, 2009
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for a new amp for my bedroom, either brand new or secondhand. It will be used mainly to play music from a laptop/ iPod and will be hooked up to the tv also. Any recommendations around the £250 mark?

A

Anonymous

Rotel RA-04, or a cheaper RA-02 that comes with a remote - both great amps.

A

Anonymous

A second-hand Arcam A85 (if you can find one in budget) will almost certainly better both of these. Great all-rounder, lots of options for configuration...a fool-proof buy!!

Hedgehog

A

Anonymous

I got a pioneer VSX 819 for 250.00 delivered.

But I am a noob, so not sure if thats what type of amp you are looking for

A

Anonymous

If you dont mind classic/vintage from the early 80's you will be spoilt for choice ... I would look at one of the old silver pioneer SA series (SA-8500 or SA-9500 or SA-9800) ...

you may pick up one of the 8500's or 9500's for under £200 ... an SA-9800 may cost a bit more ... they have been selling for over £500 the last 2 weeks ... if you are patient, you may find one within your budget, especially if you use google instead of ebay

alternatively, an old Pioneer A400 can be had for approx £120 or less ... I bought a Pioneer A300-R precision (as modded by tom evans) for £113 on sunday ...

A

Anonymous

Speaking of older stuff, a 'Creek CAS4040' would be a great snap up buy maybe on flea bay. Are usually going around 50 quid sometime a bit more or even less. This would save you extra dosh to spend on cables, dock or speakers etc? without compromising on the sound department.

A

Anonymous

There are still some great "reprocessed" Cyrus deals around. Cyrus offered excellent part exchange delals earlier this year to it's customers and, through certain dealers, are now selling the trade -ins - fully refurbished and guarenteed for six months.