best amp to match B&W 683s for stereo set up

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
A year ago I bought a pair of B&W 683's as the first step in the process of upgrading my stereo system to something slightly classier. I'm now considering replacing the amp. Am a complete beginner as far as knowledge of hifi goes, but after trawling the internet for a bit I gather that these big speakers need an amp that will provide enough oomph for them... My other consideration is budget, at the moment I'm looking to spend around £700-£800 on the new amp (edit: though if the general view is that these speakers deserve a better amp then I may wait a bit longer and save up for a nicer one.)

The current set up:

Amp: Sony TA-FE370

CD player: Sony CDP-XE270.

(and bog standard cables, thinking about possibly getting some better ones soon as well.)

Recommendations?

Chokobolt

Mar 6, 2010
Visit site
Hey dude, you also wanna change that cd-player at some point, as I think it would drag your system down when you get a proper amplifier for those speakers
emotion-5.gif

If you want an amp that never makes you think ("Do I have enough power for these speakers") I recommend this amp. It's "only" a power amp, so you would have to connect it to your Sony amp, but you could of course get this pre-amplifier from the same company to go with it. If you go for the pre+power amp it will cost you around £711 and for £237 you could get this cd-player.

Yeah, sorry if I am biased (as you can see in my signature, I have all of thise components that I just recommended) but I think they punch way above their price/is very good value for the money/great bang for the buck, and I have yet to hear something that sounded better (to me) even though I have visited a couple of Hi-Fi stores
emotion-1.gif

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
The only drawback there chockobolt is that the OP's Sony amp doesn't have pre-outs to be able to add a power amplifier.