B&W CM7 HIFI set up

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I am new to HIFI. I purchased a pair of B&W CM7 speakers. I now have the following setup:

B&W CM7 (pair)

Yamaha RX-797 stereo receiver

Cambridge Audio Dac Magic

Yamaha S1800 CD player

I seem to be getting a really clear sound. However, I feel it no as warm as it should be. Highs are unforgiving when played through the CM7 tweeters. Also, I feel bass could be tighter are have more presence (hence the present lack of it).

Any suggestions on how can I improve my setup so it may sound warmer and with more BASS?

Thank you very much!

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
You could try some decent OFC speaker cables and interconnects with a high strand count, but really I think the blame lies with the receiver.

A

Anonymous

Thank you for your response.

Are there any cables and interconnects you might recommend? Or were could I look for those specific cables?

Thank you

ID.

Feb 22, 2010
Visit site
As cables are probably only going to be doing some fine tuning, I wouldn't spend stupid amounts, as it may not solve your problem.

I haven't heard than but a number of forum members have reported success with Van Damme (studio blue and UPOFC?) which seem to be very reasonable, otherwise some people recommend any generic OFC (Oxygen Free Copper) speaker cable with a high strand count. The structure (particularly having many strands) is probably more important than any particular brand. (Maybe he two main two main proselytizers AliEnRIK and MUSICRAFT can give you more details).

I've listened to (and bought) some brand cables that give great bass response and warmth without losing detail, but as you'd be spending almost the value of your receiver and may not be able to achieve the desired result, I don't think they represent good value for money in your situation.

A

Anonymous