AXA35 - CXC (v2) - DacMagic 100

phonohead

Jul 24, 2024
Visit site
Greetings,

This may be a "down to one's own preferences and ears" as far as the sonics goes. However, I'd like some opinions from people, beyond the obvious conjecture that his is a subjective inquiry.

I've got a CXC (v2), a DacMagic 100 and no amp. I am loyal to the brand, so I'm thinking of pairing these components with the AXA35. I don't want, or need, an amplifier with BlueTooth, Wifi, DACs and other digital/wireless connections - fearing they might be outdated at some point. A stand-alone DAC is better in this case.

I am quite new to this field, so I am curious if this pairing might be an overkill for the AXA35?

jetblack9090

Nov 18, 2022
Visit site
Yes and no, the axa 35 is a decent amplifier and probably one of the better integrated amps at its price point, that said, The cxa61 is a much better amplifier. As soon as you plug the two in side by side and listen to them one right after the other the cxa61 comes across as the much more mature sounding, better sound staging And everything.

Well you might be of the opinion you don't want an internal DAC because of future outdatedness, the reality is that's irrelevant. The cxa61 has a built-in digital converter however down the line should that be come outdated somehow you can still use one of the many analog inputs on the amplifier itself and never use the DAC again.

So you might ask yourself why am I buying something that I eventually won't use, in the case of the Dac, I would say to you that what you're paying for is a better quality amplifier that will stand the test of time much more than the axa35. Not only will it stand the test of time better, build quality is higher and also you'll be able to operate not only the amplifier but your streamer all with the same remote.