AV receiver + stereo amp = Peace?

rendu

Sep 10, 2008
Visit site
Hello, I have been upgrading my system for the past 10 years and I still do not seem to find peace speacially with regards to music. I have tried several AV receiver brands with different speaker combinations but, the result with music is still far from satisfactory.

I am seriously considering the possibility to build a system with a set up of AV receiver + stereo amp (via pre-outs of the AV receiver). The objective is to use the same set of speakers by both amplifiers and be able to play the same sources.

Is this really the best solution to have a satisfactory performance both in movies and music? Any alternatives?

I would like to hear from anybody who is using this configuration specially regarding easy of use and user friendliness. I am concerned about having to play around with volumes, remote controls, equalizations in both amplifiers, balance and consistency of the system across all speakers, conection of sources to use both amps, etc.

Many thanks, Pablo.

scene

Hi Pablo,
I don't have this configuration, but am considering it. My next AV amp upgrade will be to one with pre-outs for the front pair, so I can route them through my A85. I notice you've got an AVR280, and I've got an AVR250 - and I must say that I have found Arcam to make some of the most musical AV amps.
If I had the money, I would look at an AVR500 / 600 with some appropriate speakers. I'm loathe to demo this right now, as I fear I would start looking around to see what furniture / valuables / family members I could sell to pay for it.