Hi,

I'm looking to buy a new turntable with auto return and that delivers a great sound. I've been told the Teac tn300 has the auto return but I can't find any website or video that could confirm that. Is there someone who knows if it has this feature?

Also, any thoughts on the Denon dp300f, Marantz tt42p and Thorens td 170? Those are automatic turntables that I consider if the Teac doesn't work.

Thanks!

Welcome Pierre,

The TEAC is a manual turntable, as I ascertained from a few websites with pictures and specs.

Regret I have no experience of the others, but I wonder why you consider auto lift so important as it severely limits your options, and often comes with poorer performance.

dtmark

Aug 23, 2014
Visit site
While I wouldn't want to see any money put into a a motorised fully automated mechanism, as that money could go on more useful things, I can see the point of a simple mechanical "auto lift" at the end especially for people who have a tendency to fall asleep while listening. Not that I'm suggesting the OP does.

I'd never thought about this before, but it does make me wonder why such a simple thing isn't commonplace.

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
Handy to have and some TT's use a non-invasive system which does not affect audio.

I can give you examples s/h but unfortunately don't know anything about the models you mention.

chebby said:
It's an open secret that the Dual CS-505-4 is still made, brand-new (in Germany) ...

http://www.amazon.de/gp/offer-listing/B000SN9ZIC/ref=dp_olp_new?ie=UTF8&condition=new

It has auto-lift / auto-stop at the end-of side.

It's also a pretty good turntable and has been for almost 40 years!

Yes. I had the 504-2 for years.

This is likely to be much better than anything with auto-return built in. Not too sue why OP would want that anyway as it's just something else to go wrong. :)

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
Al ears said:
chebby said: