ARCAM CD 17 + A18 + ? speakers

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I am looking for a pair of speakers to partner with my ARCAM CD17 and A18, would it be possible for you guys to recommend something?

Having been listening to music on PCs and iPod over the last few years as a student, I am new to the world of hi fi. My budget would be £500 plus or minus £200. I listent to classical mostly and would fancy a pair of speakers good for chamber music.

Thank you.

A

Anonymous

Monitor Audio are considered by many to be a perfect match - you could pick up something from the old RS range for your budget. RS2 if you want standmount or RS6 if you want floorstanders. A couple of RS6s on ebay currently, plus some year old GS10s for £800.

bluelittle:

I am looking for a pair of speakers to partner with my ARCAM CD17 and A18, would it be possible for you guys to recommend something?

Having been listening to music on PCs and iPod over the last few years as a student, I am new to the world of hi fi. My budget would be £500 plus or minus £200. I listent to classical mostly and would fancy a pair of speakers good for chamber music.

Thank you.

Welcome to the forum

Right, I'm not on this occasion going mention Monitor Audio (shock, horror
emotion-3.gif
), but it really depends on whether you're looking for standmounted or floorstanders?

When I heard the A18/CD17 combo I was really impressed with Usher S520s. Although WHFI only awarded it 3 stars, they are one of the best sub-£400 standmounters I've heard. If you can stretch your budget to £900 Ruark Sabre III are immensely good, likewise the brilliant PMC DB1S.

As regards floorstanders, KEF IQ5SE will have the dynamics and agility to really lift the Arcams relaxed nature. Joelsim used to have Arcam/Dali combo - I've not heard the Dalis but they are impressive with Arcam gear....so I'm told.

Ah, before I forget, there's a brand called Monitor Audio that're pretty good with Arcam
emotion-5.gif