Arcam Alpha 8 & KEF Q15s - Want to upgrade speakers & get a DAC/Upgrade Hifi

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I've been listening to my Hifi now for 15 years (Arcam Alpha 8R amp, Alpha 8 Power Amp, Alpha 8SE CD and KEF Q15 speakers) and while I like its sound it is getting long in the tooth :)

I've intended for years to upgrade my bookstand speakers (currently on stands) to floorstand speakers but I'm not sure in what direction to go. I don't have access to the options available in the UK as I now live in Germany, the local store tends to focus on limited sets but do have KEF gear (not sure of models or prices yet, they are missing prices - and they amazingly have a couple of bits of Arcam hifi gear but tend to focus on NAD and Mourdant(?)). I was wondering if anyone can recommend floorstanding speakers that pair well with Alpha 8 gear.

The other issue is that the Alpha 8 doesn't have a digital input and thats problematic for me as I tend now to listem to music that way these days. Originally I had a Mac Mini in the living room and just ran a analogue cable between the Mini and the Amp, but recently we swapped it out into another room and replaced it with an Apple TV which is digital out only which leaves me with a prediciment:

1) Do I get an external DAC? (Dacmagic, rDAC... - not researched yet. Have two recommendations for Dacmagic, one for rDAC)

2) Do I upgrade the AMP/Hifi for something more modern which has digital inputs but if so to what? I'm concerned by the lack of gear available locally, so a decent demo could be an issue too. There are more options I think in Hamburg (I live a little south)

I'd be grateful for any advice, thank you

Rob

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site