Amplifier recommendations?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I'm a hifi newbie and would like some advice on what to look for in an amplifier. At the moment I have Mordaunt-Short Avant 906i speakers (specs), powered by an old Mordaunt-Short MS-A5000 amp kindly given to me by a friend. I believe it to be a 150Wpc amplifier.

The right channel has just stopped working on that amplifier, and I'm looking to get a new one, but I'm a little uncertain how powerful of an amp I need. I've read in some places that you should aim for twice the speaker's RMS value. Is that true? I'm not sure whether the 120W listed on that spec sheet is the RMS or the peak? Also, 240W seems excessive, since with the 150W amp I never turn the volume past about 1/4. The spec sheet also says 20W-120W. But I've read elsewhere that underpowering the speakers can damage them. What's a safe range for my speakers?

Specific amplifier recommendations would also be appreciated, but I'm more interested in learning the principles of matching an amplifier. I've googled this for a few hours but have come away with no consistent understanding.

My inputs in order of use are a Hitachi HT-6M turntable (so would preferably have an integrated phono stage), computer output through a headfi bithead external USB soundcard (though I've ordered an M-Audio Audiophile 2496 and will be putting the S/PDIF through a separate DAC eventually), a Technics SL-PS7 CD player, and a Marantz ST-48 tuner.

Any advice much appreciated.

A

Anonymous

You'd be fine with 50 watts. The hifi novice oft gets consumed by power, in reality it's actually difficult to find an underpowered amp for most speakers. What's your budget? What music do you listen to?

d_a_n1979

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
As above 50w is uusually more than enough unless youre looking to drive some dificult speakers.

As Ray said; what music are you into?