Amp + Speaker set up

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello!

Im pretty new to the high end hi-fi market so am looking for a bit of advice...even though the question has probably been asked a thousand times!! (I have done some searches.. :D )

Looking for an Amp with FM (ideally DAB) receiver and some speakers. Have a budget of about £800-£1000.

I have been doing some reading and think two floor standing speakers would be best as they apparently deliver more bass and i have the space to accommodate them - although my room isn't massive. But I am open to surround systems or bookshelf speakers.

Looking through the site and talking with some other people I've been thinking about:

Speakers:

EB1 or 2s (seem to be rated very highly on here)

Monitor Bronze BX5/Silver RX1

Q Acoustics 2050

Dynaudio DM2/6

Mordaunt Short Aviano 6

Acoustic Energy Aelite 3

KEF IQ5SE

Amps:

Denon DRA700AE DAB receiver

I usually play dance/house/rock/RnB style music, and tend to like it pretty loud. The amp would need a few plug-ins for ipod, laptop, CD player etc...

I know its a pretty general question, it's just hard to find the time to visit the shops and listen. I'm also trying to make the most informed choice!

Any input would be greatly appreciated! :)

Dave

bluebrazil

Jul 2, 2009
Visit site
if its for purely listening to music i think you would be better off matching a stereo amp with a pair of speakers, not a home cinema receiver. unfortunately tho you would need a seperate dab tuner if you go down this route

T

the record spot

At this price, active speakers would be worth shortlisting as well - there are a number at this price that will do a better job than you'd give credit for and likely outperform the gear you'll buy going down the separates route.