amp + speaker cable for vinyl

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Good evening,

I have just recently upgraded an ancient Technics TT to a Project Debut Esprit, and i am looking for some advice on getting a good amp. with a respectable phono stage. Reviews lean me towards the Rotel RA 04 SE (although no specific info on the phono stage). Can anyone give advice on whether this is a good choice? I listen to all music from hip-hop to black/doom metal, classic rock to electronica and most things in between.

I would also appreciate some advice on speaker cables/connectors to go with my (just ordered!) Wharfedale 9.1 speakers. Looking for some under the £5 per m. mark. Also advice on Bi-wiring, yay or nay?

Any advice would be much appreciated as i am fairly new to all this wonderful technology!

smuggs

Feb 19, 2009
Visit site
not the right answer but i find turntables that good that it takes a bad set-up, very very bad cable to ruin the sq, so i would go for some 4 or 5 star stuff and cant see there being any problems. the amp is your call just demo a few if possible if not i have not heard many say bad things about rotel -04/04se .

A

Anonymous

Thanks for taking the time to reply Smuggs! Decided to go for a phono stage before i splash out on an amp. just yet. Thinking either the Pro-Ject phono box mark II or the Cambridge 640p. Still trying to work out what speaker cable though, Richer sounds have some various Cambridge and QED at reasonable prices, maybe go in and get advice from the guys in there.

A

Anonymous

It really doesnt matter what cables you use to connect things up as long as they are well shielded, and any £20 interconnect will be (such as the QED performance series). Beyond that you really, honestly wont be able to hear a difference.

Similarly with speaker cable, as long as its got a decent sized conductor, there will be no difference between them whether they are just copper or silver plated copper.