AE1 MK 3 speaker

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello Forum,

just wonder whether any forum member is using the above speaker and also be interested in the electronics used.

My system : Cyrus Pre XPD / X Power, Rega P3/Heed Orbit 1- Benz ACE L

regards from Germany

Edgar

Simon Lucas

Jun 5, 2007
Visit site
I've been using a pair for maybe four years now, and while I've chopped and changed electronics in that time (currently Naim Nait XS amplifier and Clear Audio Emotion t/t) I've not felt inclined to replace the AEs. I think they're truly excellent - and they should be a decent match with your amplification.

Diamond Joe

Mar 1, 2008
Visit site
I currently have AE1 mk1s and I heard the mk3 at the Bristol show in 2008, the step up is unbelievable, sadly I can't remember what electronics they were using (maybe Exposure???) but whatever you're driving them with they'll provide you with a superbly honest and faithful reproduction. I can't fathom how they get so much out of such small speakers.

AEJim

Nov 17, 2008
Visit site
I'm going to try and get some of the new Reference in for review soon (essentially AE1mkIV but wanting to move on and all that...) will be interesting to see what you guys think - purposely designed them to be more affordable, relatively speaking (£1500) but technically superior - I liked the old mkIII, and SE in particular a lot (since I spent months voicing them with the head of R&D and playing with bloody hundreds of capacitors in the process!) - but much prefer these. In terms of power and scale there is no comparison with the new underhung driver, a little smoother to me too - more reminiscent of the mkII oddly... Will be interesting to see if we can finally get Simon to trade-up!

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
Should you be keen for an everyday Joe to have a pair on long term test Jim. I would be happy to oblige.
emotion-2.gif

AEJim

Nov 17, 2008
Visit site
I'll just be happy when we get them fully finished!
emotion-2.gif