Advice on buying a new system

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

Newbie here so please be gentle.

I currently have a Technics mini stacker system that I brought around 95-97 and I think its time I got something new and this is where I bow in your superior knowledge hoping you can help.

As I previously mentioned I am new to looking into all the spec side of things and I have tried reading up on it but I end-up with overload! If I explain what I am looking for in a system and what I have looked at so far, would you be so kind in suggesting systems and pointers that I can look at.

I am looking for a mini system that plays CD's, DAB radio and if possible a iPhone dock (not sure if there is system out there where you can use the control to select the tunes on you iPhone whilst its docked - it doesn't have to charge whilst its docked.

I have an extensive CD collection that I am thinking about transfering to an PC external hard drive to help save space, I plan to put each album in its own folder with cover art so that I can use it on my iPhone. So ideally I would like to be able to plug the external hard drive in as well and select/play my music from it through the system (this isn't essential but would be great if I could, if I can't just means CD's not being put into storage).

I have looked at the following:

Arcam Solo Mini (5 star rating)

Cambridge Audio One (4 star rating)

Marantz M-CR502 (5 star rating)

Out of the 3 Arcam is the most expensive so I would set that as my maximum price budget so if you can suggest alternative makes then please feel free!

Just to help understand my needs I listen to a vast array of music ranging from indie, bit of Al Green, Barry White, classical, 70s and 80s, live recorded sets and todays dance music

Thanking you all in advance

A

Anonymous

if i were you I might consider a network route - a sonus or even an Olive connected to a server (aka your pc). You can transfer all your cds in hi-res format to the drive.