Advice needed- Digital music Hi-Fi System Set up for beginner

Paul

Nov 21, 2015
Visit site
Hi All,

I'm very new to the hi-fi scene and have been doing my research online to get a good sound system set up for my new place.

My requirements are

1) Able to play back digital file in high-res

2) Able to play back digital file over NAS, USB, Bluetooth, Wireless.

3) Music sound quality - I listen to a variety of genre, classic, pop, rock, dance, hip-hop

4) Better movie quality than TV in build speakers

5) Floorstanders vs Bookshelf? I'm building my living room around the sound system set up, so would have space for either set up. I tried Zensor 1 vs Zensor 5 and the sound quality esp at Bass level is pretty significant. I'm thinking if i have to add a sub-woofer I'll prefer to go for floorstanders

With that in mind I think I'll need to get a network audio player, stereo amp and speakers. My budget is USD$2000

This is the set up that I have in mind - let me know what you guys think

I plan to just hook up my Tv directly to the amplifier for movies.

Option 1 -

Network Audio Player - Bluesound Node 2

Stereo Amplifier - Marantz PM6005? Quad Venta? Rotel RA-11?

Zensor 5

Option 2-

Bluesound Power Node 2 / NAD D3020

Zensor 5

Bluesound seems to be a good option for me to have multi-room playback in the future and I'm incline to option 2 at this moment due to budget. Since with option 2, I'll be able to meet my requirements which is close to my budget. For the price difference between the bluesound node 2 and Bluesound power node 2 of around USD$300, there doesn't seen to be any decent stereo amplifier available at that price range that can provide the equivalent of option 2?

My thinking is that unless I'm willing to spend more than my budget, option 1 seems out since the better stereo amps will cost more?

Does anyone have a recommendation/feedback on Bluesound Powernode 2 as an amp to drive Zensor 5? Also how does B&W 685S2 compare to Zensor 5?