Advice for a home cinema virgin please

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi everyone.

I am totally new to home cinema and would really appreciate some advice. I have just bought a new Sony LCD TV and am looking to get a home cinema system to go with it.

I have a budget of no more than £1000.00 and would like to get a blue ray player as well. I would also like the system to play music CD's to a reasonably high standard and have a connection for an ipod.

I know that going down the seperates route is better than buying a home cinema in a box but am not sure if i can get a decent set up for my budget.

All help much appreciated

Thanks

A

Anonymous

Have you looked at:

Reciever: Onkyo 606 / Sony 820

Speakers: KEF KHT1005 / Tannoy F1

BD player: Sony BDP-S350

A

Anonymous

Have had a look round the site and thinking on these:

Sony 820 rather than Onkyo 606, simply because the Sony can be got for £250.00, £150.00 cheaper than the Onkyo.

QAcoustics 1010i package

Sony BDP-S350 (once it comes out)

All in this package should cost me around £950.00 and all of these components have recieved 5 stars in there reviews. I am thinking this would give me a good system that meets my needs. Would i be right?

cheers

A

Anonymous

Thanks

didnt realise speaker cable could be so expensive. Have thought about the QED silver anniversary XT for my fronts which have a total of 10.5mts to run.

My rears on the otherhand will have around 23 metres total to run. Will i hear much difference if i was to go with a cheaper cable for the rears?

Thanks

A

Anonymous

Have you seen the QED Micro? Think you can get it for about £2/m.

A

Anonymous

Thanks

just found the QED site, micro cable comes in at 1.70 per metre so will use that for my rears.

I will be wall mounting my LCD and recessing all the cabling, with the Sony 820 having four HDMI inputs am i safe just running one high quality HDMI cable up to my TV?