A bit more warmth please

stiffy

Apr 18, 2010
Visit site
Hi,
I'm still a newbie and in need of some advice about my current cdp and amp. The amp's an Arcam Alpha 5 and the CDP a Marantz CD52MKII played through Mission 70MKII speakers. It sounds great with easy listening stuff and pop/dance but too bright (to my ears) with rock music which is my preferred listen.
I've been contemplating swopping either the CDP, amp or both in an effort to improve the sound of my rock music but am on a tight budget so would only be looking at used items on the bay. I've looked at various NAD & Cambridge Audio CDP'S and amps and also a Pioneer A-502R amp. I would like a bit more warmth to the music without it being dull. Perhaps I'm asking too much on my budget or do they all sound poor with rock music....surely not???

Anybody prepared to offer me the benefit of their wordly knowledge on this matter? Should I change or will I not see any difference? Maybe it will be worse....... give me strength.

Regards
John

T

the record spot

As someone who owned that very setup, with the exception of different speakers (Mission 751s instead of your 70MkIIs), I wouldn't call either the amp or source bright or harsh sounding. Keep those two as they are absolutely fine for the job, assuming both are still in good shape.

No idea what to suggest, but have you tried toeing your speakers slightly outwards? A nice low cost option and doesn't screw up the stereo image as you may think. In fact, it can tame a lively treble and throw out good wide stereo. No great shift outwards required, just a few degrees.