24fps ....un-natural.

Thompsonuxb

Feb 19, 2012
Visit site
Well I'm new to the world of Blue Ray after years of refusing to buy into the hype. But have finally been turned.

Is it me or is BD un-natural looking - if anything I'm finding myself adjusting the picture down to DVD level. It kinda robs the sparkle off movies making them look almost like an in studio tv programme - like Emmerdale.

I'm missing the grit and grain the films don't feel cinematic.

The 24fps thing just looks plain weird to me, again robbing movies of their natural flow - the motion to me...well its inconsistant. it could be the content I have as my 1st blue rays are 'old' movies that have been converted and were not shot in HD. The Alien boxset is my first BR and I'm comparing it with my old Alien box set......( via the BDP) it is improved but .....but its like its plastic.

Its not like the transistion from Tape to CD is it?

abacus

Use a disc that has a THX optimiser on it so as you can set your system up correctly, as it’s probably not currently working at its best.

Blu-Rays like DVDs vary in quality.

24fps is the speed that all the usual films are shot in, so should be more natural than the 25 or 30fps used by DVD.

It’s also possible that you have got so used to DVD quality that the shock of the increased quality of Blu-ray is taking some time to get used to.

Hope this helps

Bill

Which TV and blu ray player have you got? What do you mean by adjusting the settings down to DVD level? Most films are shot at 24fps, so it should not look unnatural. Most TV programmes are recorded at 50 or 60fps. Are the films recorded at 24fps? Some TVs do not support 24fps, which needs to be considered as well.

BenLaw

Nov 21, 2010
Visit site
Think you're on your own with this one...

Is it like the transition from tape to CD? Ignoring the suggestion that tape was a superior format, I suspect even you know that tape was an analogue format, so no, there is no analogy to be drawn whatsoever.

BenLaw