180g vs Standard Pressings.

FanthorpesHiFi

Nov 7, 2013
Visit site
Hi Everyone. I know this has probably been discussed a lot in the past but I wanted to hear your experiences on the benefits or any disadvantages of 180g vinyl and standard pressings…Although I am relatively new to building up my collection. I have found that predominantly all the pressings of my favourite music seem to be re-released in 180g. Any original releases I have are physically much thinner and seem to have a lot more energy and ‘punch’I’m led to believe that a thicker slab gives a deeper richer bass, but is this always an advantage?Do any of you make a point of looking for or avoiding 180g if you can? Does anyone own the same record in both 180g and standardDoes 180g cause more correction to have to be made within the phono stage? Also, does a bigger piece of vinyl cause more problems with un wanted vibration within the mechanics of the deck?I have to say that the more vinyl I get hold of the more I’m enjoying the whole ‘ownership’ of it. The art work and lyric sheets etc are usually very special and make you feel that you’ve purchased more than just the music. Dave @ Fanthorpes.

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
Covenanter? :)

It's fairly rare to find anything that isn't 180gram nowadays, particularly new releases, and 200gram seems to be creeping in for some box sets and special releases.

I can't say I've compared any directly, although a few customers have commented that the heavier ones seem to sound better. Obviously there's a few technical reasons why they are better, and I'm sure these benefits will make themselves known even on decent quality budget decks.

The thinner vinyl probably sound punchier because it has less bass. Bass performance is the first thing to suffer with vinyl, and the heavier vinyl improves that, so I'd probably take thicker vinyl every time!