100hz unnatural movement

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello everybody, I need some help from you video gurus.

First: I'm a professional photographer and a cinema lover, not a techie or tv expert, so please excuse my use of inappropriate words (plus my english language is so, so at its best...).

The kind of picture that mostly please my eyes in viewing movies is, these days, the plasma picture over the lcd one. I find it more natural or cine-natural, while the lcd picture is surely sharper (very good to see digital photos on it), but a little too "digital" for me. Just my opinion.

So that last year I bought a panny 42px70 (also following precious WhatHiFi suggestions), and I love it. (... I also think that an HD ready panel shows better SD picture than a full HD, but that's another topic...).

Now these days I'm watching lots of LCD panels in stores (I have to buy another TV for another house) that "promote" their 100hz ability. I repeat I'm not a techie but I read everywhere that a 100hz panel should be better in motion sequences, quick cam movement etc. (a problem that sometimes afflicts lcd panel).

Now, maybe my eyes are "wrong", but wat I saw when I look at most of those pannels is a motion that is in some way unnatural. It's surely more "quick", maybe a little bit faster than natural... or probably "too natural" and less cinema style. Sometimes It looks to my eyes like I'm watching a home made video. I dont' know If I succedeed in expalining what I see.

So here are my questions for you:

(a) Am I completely crazy (or somehow blind) or what I said has some kind of sense?

(b) It's only about lcd 100hz panel or about any (even plasma) 100hz panel?

(c) question b is very important for me because planning to buy another 42 panny I'm scared that the new px80 is a 100hz panel and that it should produce that "strange" effect ... (maybe better to buy an "old" px70?)

Thanks a lot in advance

lm.

A

Anonymous